Some entries are just… blah…

So I was present at a photography screening on Carter Road. I won’t say who had organised it as I must honestly admit that I have seen their exhibitions and they are really good. However, the ones I did see at the promenade were….
Well the first photographer whose pictures they screened were really good. I loved the compositions, the rusty portrayal of rural life, even the monochrome used gave a contrast to his overall colour grade.
Then the second photographer’s pictures came on the screen. All I can say is, they seemed more like pictures you take from a phone camera. I understand that even those pictures can be amazing. But the ones I saw… blah.
The third was a Brazilian. The first picture was good. The rest were not.
Now why I’m saying all this is because all these images were part of a competition, as far as I have understood. I just ran into this small crowd with a projector at the promenade and I was like ‘Hey let’s watch what’s happening.’ Now I didn’t exactly hear what the organiser was saying, and I’m pretty sure that they had much better photographs later on, but the third and second sets really bummed me out.
There was a part of me that said, ‘I could’ve clicked better pictures.’ But then I realised that I didn’t. I am very much capable of clicking better pictures. I know people who are much better than I am at clicking pictures. But guess what, none of those were there in that competition, it was those terrible pictures. And why?
Because those people actually took the efforts to go ahead and click pictures and send it in. This isn’t even the first time I’ve felt this way. There was another time when a short film I wrote the screenplay for won an award. But the others in competition were so horrible, I would’ve just disqualified them if I were the judge (And I have made a short film using my phone camera that went on to win the first place.).
The point is there are people who have no talent, but are willing to work hard. And only a few days back, a friend of mine reminded me of a quote by Kevin Durant,“Hard work beats talent when talent fails to work hard.”

Maybe, if I (and many of us) had just put in a little more effort, we could have been short listed instead of those bad competitors who get selected for lack of entries. Maybe, just maybe.
But then again some people have terrible taste, so you can’t really judge. It’s all about what you like and what you don’t. For all I know, people loved the pictures I found crappy. Ah well, it’s up to you. I’m just sharing my thoughts.

May Your Darkness guide you to Your Light!

One thought on “Some entries are just… blah…

Leave a Reply

