So, I’m reading this book called Myth=Mithya, by Dr. Devdutt Pattanaik, which so beautifully explains in brief the religion of Hinduism. Now, I’m born a Hindu, and it was mandatory for me as a child to follow what my parents taught me. However, as I learned to think, I began drifting away from the religious side of life and turned towards the more rebellious, atheist mindset. That was for a very complicated reason, until about two years ago when I went to Tamil Nadu for a cultural tour. Little did I know that this tour would reveal to me the true nature of my religion.
It was in a temple of Shiva – the name escapes me– where unwillingly I had to sit through an abhishek (anointing) of the Shiv Linga. Being the atheist that I was, I looked around while the village folk gathered in the temple with a wet tempest showered the ancient temple with shivering rains. The temple was true to the ancient art and science of architecture and sculptures, and they had preserved the values of that culture. It began to reflect in me.
As the chants of the priest and the singing of hymns began, the temple architecture bounced those vibrations onto us. The massive Shiv Linga that was being bathed in milk and rice and oil and what not began to emit a fragrance of freshness throughout the temple. The chanting vibrations, the scents of the prasad and various flowers, incense sticks and other offerings, together invoked a surge of positivity through me. It did not demand that I pray. It did not ask for my devotion. It was a selfless, unrequited emission of positive vibrations that only freshened and aroused my mind and soul. It wasn’t a religious feeling. It was a spiritual experience.
That was when I realised that my religion (arguably) has a strong basis in spirituality. Every tiny aspect about it has some or the other meaning. I do not wish to propagate Hinduism because I truly believe that everyone has the right to follow what they believe. I don’t want you to give up your faith to follow mine. But, if by any chance you get a opportunity to witness such a puja or abhishek in a temple, please do sit through the entire procedure. The experience is mesmerizing and doesn’t ask anything more than your time. I wasn’t even paying attention and I felt so positive.
Okay, this post was too religious for my taste, but I was thinking about this experience while reading, and I felt like sharing it with you guys. It doesn’t matter which religion you follow. Ultimately, we are all humans. Humanity should be the basis of our existence.
Until next time,

May Your Darkness guide you to Your Light!

Leave a Reply

