Most of you might not know who Andrei Rublev was. Many of you won’t even know about this masterpiece by Soviet and Russian Filmmaker Andrei Tarkovsky (Ivan’s Childhood, Solyaris, Mirrors, etc.).

I’m currently watching his films, which I must admit are some of the finest pieces of filmmaking I’ve ever seen. Until now, I’d heard that Tarkovsky is one of the best filmmakers of all time. I can now confirm that Tarkovsky is one of the best filmmakers of all time.

Andrei Rublev in particular deals with the early 15th Century Russia. It is a hostorical biopic based on the life of a religious icon painter. And believe me, this film is inspiring as hell. I don’t easily rate films 10/10 on IMDb. But with this one, I had to. It was so beautifully shot, well written and composed with such excellence. I regret not having watched this at last year’s film festival (Long story short: festival management and delegates were annoying and ruined my experience of watching films). But seriously, you should go and get a copy of this film and watch it. Watch it as many times as you can and absorb the essence of Tarkovsky’s brilliant filmmaking. It is one of the finest films I’ve ever seen, and has inspired me to write.

I’m still watching Tarkovsky’s filmography. I don’t know when I’ll be done as I’m busy with other freelancing stuff, and my book (can never forget my book). Until then…

May your Darkness guide you to your Light!

2 thoughts on “Andrei Rublev (1966)

Leave a Reply

